Baltic Open Submission 2024

Wed – Sun, 10am – 6pm

Preview 15 March, 6.30 – 11pm

Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art

An exhibition of 100 artworks showcasing painting, sculpture, photography, video and more by artists, makers, self-taught creatives and hobbyists based in North East England, alongside several works by established artists. 

Works exhibited have been selected by a panel including Paul Smith, North East-based musician and lead singer with Maxïmo Park; artist Jasmina Cibic; Leo Fenwick, Strategic Partnerships Director, Fenwick; Niomi Fairweather, Baltic Curator; and Rose McMurray, Baltic Curatorial Assistant.

Established artists include Phyllis Christopher, Newcastle-based photographer known for documenting LGBTQ+ sexuality and protest in 1980s/1990s San Francisco; Holly Hendry, London-based sculptor and installation artist who explores what lies beneath the surface, from hidden underground spaces to the interior workings of the body; and British institution, household name and prolific painter Jim Moir (aka Vic Reeves) whose submission is a newly completed, unseen work.

Artists exhibiting
Lana-Karylle Abraham, Angela Allaway, Lucien Anderson, Anthroposcenic, Sarah-Lee Bailey, David Baillie, Maja Bednarska, C. Mae Bloom, Ruth Bond, Charlotte Brecken, Brutalwares, Darren Cairney, Zhehao Cao, CHO, Sarah Cleeve, Katy Cole, Erin Collins, Phyllis Christopher, Rachael Cutmore, Bethany Dallas, Kevin Day, Giorgio Di Francesco, Anthony Downie, Mark Duffy, Theresa Easton, ECHOKIT (Neil Wilson), Taryn Edmonds, Jess Edwards, Kim Fewell, Michael Fischer, Marie Fitzsimmons, Susan J Foulkes, Stuart Francis, Ross H Frew, Pawel Gajek, Alia Gargum, gobscure, Dan Goodman, Richard Hall, Octavia Hands, Nancy Harper, Derek Henderson, Holly Hendry, Alice Highet, Ross Humphries, Becky Hush, Marc Jeffrey, Megan Jepson, Craig Stewart Johnson, Sian Jordan, Milda June, Giedre Ka, Peter Kellett, Paul W. Kelso, Kitch22, Makis Lepouris, Martha Lewis, Andrew Livingstone, Kerry Lowes, Natasha Loydell, Euan Lynn, Jenni Mac, Julie Macbean, Kirsty Maclennan, Jenny McNamara, Luke McTaggart, Meg McWilliam, Anya Miler, Andrew Mitchell, Jim Moir (Vic Reeves), Maria Motowylczyk, Kübra Müjde, Claire Ong, Liam Paul, Charlie Pellow, Jo Pickering, Danielle Pilling, Brian Plunkett, Jack Purvis, Thomas Quibell, Rosie Rendles, David Reynolds, Sally Roberts, Stevie Ronnie, Thom Sansom, Lily Senner, Gavin Shepherdson, Lottie Simpson, Agatha Smith, Frank Lee Smith, Finn Smith Ogg, Carol Sommer, Cody Sowerby, Nichola Stott, Yuliia Syrenkova, Terrox (Taye Benjamin), Adam Thirtle, Hope Turnbull, Unlearn & Publish (Bex Harvey & Sarah Li), Anthony Venus, Lucy Waters, Katie Watson, Zac Weinberg, Benjamin Welsh, Steven Wood, Soph Woodward, Yixue Yang

South Shore Road Gateshead NE8 3BA

View on map

Until 1 September 2024

FREE, donations welcome

  • Wed 10am – 6pm
  • Thu 10am – 6pm
  • Fri 10am – 6pm
  • Sat 10am – 6pm
  • Sun 10am – 6pmc
  • Level access
  • Lifts to all areas
  • Hearing loop
  • Large-format print
  • Walking aids
  • Mobility scooters
  • Accessible toilets
  • Baby changing facilities
  • Adult changing facilities
Back to top